Skip to content

End of the Republic

October 11, 2020

Our long journey to the end of our Constitutional republic fashioned in 1787 began with ratification of the 17th Amendment to the Constitution in 1913. Progressives threatened to call for a Constitutional Convention that would remake the original Constitution. Amending election of the U.S. Senate by the States and replacing election of Senators by popular vote was accepted as a compromise.

But if we trace steps taken that will lead on November 4 to a total remake of how America governs itself, we must look at a series of bad judgments.

The choice by Republicans of Dwight Eisenhower over U.S. Senator Robert Taft (R-OH) as the Republican candidate for President at the 1952 Republican National Convention assured continuation of the Internationalist tradition of democratic idealism founded by President Woodrow Wilson.

That continued the domination of American politics by a stream of Internationalists from John Kennedy to Lyndon Johnson, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, and Jimmy Carter.

Transmission of this series of erroneous judgments was continued by Ronald Reagan’s choice of George H. W. Bush as his running mate in the 1980 election. Just as the hearts of political conservatives were broken in 1952, twenty-eight years later Conservatives cried like babies when Gov. Paul Laxalt was passed over in favor of George H. W. Bush.

Continuing a stream of Internationalists from Bush 41 to Jimmy Carter through Bush 43 was shattered by the election of Donald Trump who proposed return to traditional order and a revitalized American nationalism. Grave personal limitations and flawed character of what in effect is a wealthy playboy playing in politics assures that the end of the Republic will begin on November 4.

Don’t blame Trump.

The blame must be placed on NY Governor Thomas Dewey who engineered Eisenhower’s victory over Taft, Richard Nixon’s choice of Gerald Ford as his Vice President, and Ronald Reagan’s choice of Bush 41 over Laxalt. The chain of errors leading to the election of radical Democrats in 2020 is Dewey, Nixon, Reagan, Bush.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: